top of page

Spaceships Dev Log #2: Tooling Progress

For this log, I'm doing things a little differently. I am writing it as I go, and will release it sometime next week (so if you're reading this on Monday or Tuesday, it was early). I'm focused on mostly back-end type work so there's not a lot of flashy visuals but I'll try to give you what I can.

First of, adding the custom timer went like a breeze, I added a class to a new script extending resource. It has a single function updateTimer(var delta) and a single exposed variable 'trigger'. Any time updateTimer(var delta) is called it returns true if an internal counter has passed the trigger amount or else it returns false. This means I can now add simple timers to scripts using only three lines (or less, since the trigger defaults to 1 sec) and can use simpler logic in the update loops. Now, I'm off to work on implementing the engine logic into the component system!
Work continues on the resource usage and management system, but I'm liking where it is, so now I'll stop getting distracted and make an engine that works! For the engine, I'm thinking of implementing my existing engine prototype as a Reference script and extending an interface in the component code.

Quick update (4/18/22), I've extended the component to the engine script, it now behaves the same as before, but in a hopefully more easily extendable component form. The artist also agreed to a flat rate for some basic ship designs and I'll do a sneak preview of some of them when they're finished and sent over. I think sensors may be the next step, but I also want to try and get resources working better and implement a refueling station. I may be taking a short trip away from my computer so that might be a perfect opportunity for the first set of world-building/lore so keep a lookout!
7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spaceships Dev Log #1: Building Tools

About two months ago I went and visited my brother. While I was staying with him (s/o for the hospitality and coffee!) he brought up the idea of neural networks and decided to pick up processing and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page